Film Festival Winners 2010

LOS ANGELES (February 8, 2010) _ The 2010 DIY Film Festival has named “Avabot,” an outer space saga that explores the humanity of a robot, as the best film of its ninth annual competition honoring independent and self-produced film.

“Avabot” director Jamie Surgener of Detroit, Michigan is the winner of the best director award for “Avabot.”

The winners and honorable mentions in the competition will be honored at an awards program to be held February 25 at the Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood, CA. The hotel is the home of the first Academy Awards.
Here's the making of video of Avabot:  

Other winners and honorable mentions in the competition:

  • Best Drama Short – “It’s Not As If We Haven’t Been Here For A While…” Kathleen Hepburn

  • Best Comedy Short – “The Lifter Upper” - Micah Chambers-Goldberg

  • Best World Cinema – “Lionel”( Australia ) – Eddie Martin

  • Best Animated ShortThe Magnitude of the Continental Divides – Christopher Coleman  

  • Best Student Film – “Eluscid” – Wilson Bessinger

  • Best Animated Feature – “Archon Defender” – David Krupicz

  • Best Feature (Drama) – “Vitreous Floaters” – Justin Jones

  • Best Feature (Comedy) – “When I Die” – Jason Zink/Alex Lukens

  • Best Documentary Feature – “Remix to Rio” – Ravi Steve

  • Best Documentary Short – “Into the Zone” – Raphael Bondy

  • Jury Prize – Experimental Short – “Do You Know How Much I Love You?” - Caroline Clafin


  • “Transfusion” – Tanel Rand

  • “Reluctance” – Seaton Lind

  • “The Procrastinators” – Tim Arnold

  • “Let’s Get Laid” – Melissa Hunter

  • “Crescendo” – Pierre Terade

  • “First Come, First Served” – Katherine Skinner

  • “Debutante” – Kate Rhodes Kennedy

  • “Turning A Corner” – Salome Chasnoff

  • “A Broken System” – Kohl Harrington

  • 1 comment:

    Anonymous said...

    How come there is never any coverage of the awards show?